Ministry health

Prime Minister of Tasmania – Minister of the Liberal Government of Tasmania

April 11, 2022

Jeremy Rockliff, Prime Minister

Today I am pleased to announce a new Tasmanian Liberal Government ministry and welcome Jo Palmer to our Cabinet to continue to implement our plan to secure Tasmania’s future.

Jo Palmer is an exceptionally experienced and hardworking community representative and will become Minister for Primary Industries and Water, Minister for Disability Services and Minister for Women. Jo will also remain Deputy Head of Government in the Legislative Council.

Since becoming a member of the Legislative Council in August 2020, Jo has been a strong and engaged member of the Rosevears electorate and is passionate about increasing community pride, local jobs and growing small businesses.

Congratulations to Jo who I know will excel in this role.

As Prime Minister, I will retain the Health and Mental Health portfolios as these are my top priorities, as I believe that health and well-being are the foundations of a thriving community.

I will also lead the tourism and trade portfolios, which as we recover from the effects of the global pandemic will be strategically imperative to ensure a diverse and resilient economy, with our integral culture and brand in both areas.

As Deputy Prime Minister, Michael Ferguson will serve as Treasurer, Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, and Minister for Planning. The importance of alignment in these areas will help in the strategic oversight of community infrastructure needs, plans and delivery.

Attorney General Elise Archer will retain the justice portfolio, while also serving as minister of corrections and rehabilitation. With our strong focus on community safety, I believe that an equally strong focus on therapeutic care and rehabilitation is essential, to allow people who have done time for crime, the opportunity to learn the skills and support they need to participate fully in society.

The Attorney General will also retain the Workplace Safety and Consumer Affairs portfolios, as well as the Minister for the Arts.

Guy Barnett will be Minister of State Development, Construction and Housing.

I know Guy’s strong work ethic and commitment to delivery will help deliver the boldest housing development plan in Tasmania’s history to increase the supply of affordable and social housing and put pressure on the decline in rents. While its other portfolios of energy and renewables, as well as resources, align well with the development of the state given the importance of opportunities in these areas. Minister Barnett will also retain the Veterans Affairs portfolio.

Roger Jaensch will be Minister for Education, Children and Youth and Minister for Skills, Training and Workforce Growth – because I think it is essential that these portfolios have a strategic alignment to give young Tasmanians the best opportunity to get the support, education and training they need, from cradle to career.

Minister Jaensch will also have the portfolios of Environment and Climate Change, as well as Indigenous Affairs.

Madeleine Ogilvie will be Minister Responsible for Small Business, Minister Responsible for Advanced Manufacturing and Defense Industries, Minister Responsible for Science and Technology, and Minister Responsible for Heritage. Minister Ogilvie will also retain the Racing portfolio.

Jacquie Petrusma retains the portfolios of police, fire and emergency management, minister of domestic violence prevention and minister of parks.

Nic Street, who has worked incredibly hard in the role of Minister for Sport and Leisure, will also serve as Minister for Hospitality and Events, Minister for Community Services and Development and Minister for Local Government, with a focus on construction strong, connected and thriving communities.

Minister Street will also be House Leader.

Mark Shelton will remain chairman.

John Tucker will remain Committee Chair and Vice-Chair, and Felix Ellis will remain Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister and Government Whip.

Lara Alexander will assume the role of Parliamentary Secretary to the State’s Minister of Development, Construction and Housing, given Lara’s strong background in this area.

Leonie Hiscutt will continue to be the Leader of Government in the Legislative Council, with Nick Duigan and Jane Howlett serving as strong representatives of their Windermere and Prosser constituents respectively.

We have a strong, united and experienced team, and we have balanced and aligned portfolios across members to ensure a focus on delivery.

I thank all members of my Liberal Parliamentary team and know that they will serve Tasmanians well by helping to realize this vision.

The new ministry will be sworn in at Government House tomorrow.

More press releases from Jeremy Rockliff

More press releases from the Prime Minister